• Thanks, Afro-Zen All Stars... Corey Harris plays In Your Ear Studio

    Thanks for playing on Saturday guys!  CD available now!

    Catch blues guitarist/vocalist Corey Harris

    at In Your Ear Jan 26th tickets/info at JAMinc

    Read More
  • New Release Round-Up 01-13-17

    New Releases - 13 January 2017

    THE FLAMING LIPS - Oczy Mlody - Warner Bros
    Produced by the band and their long-time producer Dave Fridmann, the highly anticipated album is the follow-up to The Flaming Lips' globally acclaimed 2013 album, The Terror.
    On Oczy Mlody, The Lips return to form with an album no less experimental in nature, but perhaps more melodically song-oriented, recalling the best parts of their most critically applauded albums The Soft Bulletin and the gold-certified Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots. The album is released in several configurations: a 12-song CD, a 12-song double-LP vinyl edition - pressed on colored vinyl and an 11-song single-LP vinyl edition (both of which include a digital download card of all 12 songs on Oczy Mlody), There is also a 7" red vinyl single of the band's cover of David Bowie's "Space Oddity" b/w "Jest (There Is...)".

    RUN THE JEWELS - Run The Jewels 3 [Indie Exclusive Low Price] - Run The Jewels Inc.
    The third LP (not including cat-related material) from the duo of El-P and Killer Mike includes contributions from Danny Brown, Zack de la Rocha, Tunde Adebimpe (TV on the Radio), Boots, and Kamasi Washington. 

    THE XX - I See You - Young Turks
    I See You is marked by a tonal shift to something close to pure, crisp pop structure, adorned by unusual crescendos that echo a dextrous DJ inching their dancer toward climax without ever quite lifting the house lights. Its lyric sheet moves from the danger and hopelessness of love to its deliciousness and rapture; a move into a more outward looking proposition. I See You is recognizably still The XX but is now powered by the voluble ambition of its three perfect counterweights to one another starting to not just realize but harness their full potential. You might even want to think of the decisive move from Joy Division to New Order here, too. 

    BONOBO - Migration - Ninja Tune
    Simon Green aka Bonobo returns with his sixth album, the masterful, magisterial Migration - a record which cements his place in the very highest echelons of electronic music and beyond. By turns lush, manic, beautiful, melancholy, joyful, and packed with both emotion and technical skill, this is perhaps his most ambitious attempt yet to capture the very textures of human existence in his work, as Green says of the broad dynamics on the album, "Life has highs, lows, loud and quiet moments, beautiful ones and ugly ones. Music is a reflection of life."  In particular, there is a theme here of migration, eruditely put by Green as "The study of people and spaces," he expands, "It's interesting how one person will take an influence from one part of the world and move with that influence and effect another part of the world. Over time, the identities of new places evolve." It is a theme with a personal as well as a sociological aspect to it.

    TOM CHAPLIN - The Wave - Arts & Crafts
    The debut solo album from the former Keane frontman. Tom Chaplin has called the process of recording a solo album a "daunting prospect for someone who knows nothing else". Following the band's split, Chaplin began using drugs due to anxiety over the album and "thought [he] was going to die" in early 2015: "When I finally liberated myself from years of spiraling addiction, a place of inspiration and creativity became available to me. I set about writing an album that documents my transition from the darkest recesses of human experience to a place of resolution, fulfillment and happiness. At long last I am comfortable in my own skin and have achieved that elusive dream of writing a set of songs I can truly call my own."



    Flo Morrissey / Matthew E. White - Gentlewoman, Ruby Man
    Moderat - Live
    Dryjacket - For Posterity
    Madness - Can't Touch Us Now
    The Band of Heathens - Duende
    The Infamous Stringdusters - Laws Of Gravity
    Sepultura - Machine Messiah
    Colony House - Only The Lonely
    The Molochs - America's Velvet Glory
    In Her Own Words - Unfamiliar
    The Killers - Hot Fuss [LP] 
    Rick Wakeman - Piano Portraits
    Code Orange - Forever

    & More .....

    The Flaming Lips - Space Oddity / Jest (There Is?) [Red Vinyl]
    David Bowie - No Plan EP
    Prince - Cream [12in Vinyl Single]
    Prince - U Got The Look [12in Vinyl Single]
    Prince - Kiss [12in Vinyl Single]
    Mare - EP [Vinyl]

    For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section and don't forget that many of these titles are also available on vinyl.


    Read More
  • Turntables, Speakers, Crates, and more!

    Thanks very much for shopping with us this year!  Hope you had a great holiday!


    Richmond Holiday Hours: Mon- Fri 10-9, Sat NYEve 10-6 Sun 12-6

    Happy New Year!

    Read More
  • RVA All Day! Folk Fest shirts are back!


    and in case you missed out- Folk Fest long sleeve t-shirts back in stock!

    folk fest shirts

    Read More

    Plan 9 App

    Visit the Apple APP Store to download our new Plan 9 APP

    and place our in-store listening experience in your pocket!

    Click Here To Download Our App
    Click Here To Download Our App - COMING SOON

    Click Above to Download Our App

    And experience the following features:

    Scan and Preview Any Product or Featured Release

    • Purchase Direct from the APP

    • Receive Notifications of In Store Events and Special Offers

    Read More

Music Releases 01-06-17

Artist Title Price
Gone Is Gone Echolocation New CD: $12.98
Dropkick Murphys 11 Short Stories Of Pain & Glory New CD: $15.98
SWMRS Drive North New CD: $13.99
Halestorm Reanimate 3.0: The Covers EP New CD: $5.98
Chasing Safety Nomad New CD: $13.98
Art Farmer & Jim Hall Big Blues [Vinyl] New Vinyl: $29.98
Antonio Carlos Jobim Stone Flower [Vinyl] New Vinyl: $29.98
Spill Top Ten New CD: $11.98
Pride Of Lions The Light In Your Eyes - Single New Digital: $0.99

View More

Music Releases 12-30-16

Artist Title Price
Nick Cave Mars (Original Series Soundtrack) New CD: $14.98
Brad Paisley Life Amplified World Tour: Live From WVU [CD + DVD] New CD: $19.99

View More

Music Releases 12-23-16

Artist Title Price
Alexandros Exist! New CD: $11.98
A Tribe Called Quest We got it from Here... Thank You 4 Your service [Vinyl] New Vinyl: $30.98

View More